You are here:  About / FUM Officials / FUM Presidents

FUM President

Professor Mohammad Kafi


Professor Mohammad Kafi began his term as the 17th President of the Ferdowsi University of Mashhad on 24 December 2013. Prior to this appointment, Professor Kafi had served in several administrative positions as the Director of Evaluation and Assessment of Education (1990-1992), Deputy President of Students and Cultural Affairs of the University (1997-2002), the Ferdowsi University of Mashhad and Science Counselor of Iran in India and the sub-continent (2003-2006).

As an alumnus of the Ferdowsi University of Mashhad in BSc and MSc, he continued his Ph.D. studies overseas and graduated in Agronomy and Plant breeding and received his Doctor of Philosophy degree in plant stress physiology from the University of Newcastle upon Tyne and was also awarded the Overseas Research studentship of the UK.

Under the management of Professor Kafi as the President, a Strategic Plan has been developed for the Ferdowsi University of Mashhad for the five year period 2016–2020. This plan has been developed based on the work that has been done during the previous five years and it aims to develop and excel the strengths of the University. Including depth and breadth of research, education and technology; becoming an international university; continuing to be a student based university; and continuing our genuine desire to do good in the province, the country and the world.

Professor Kafi is recognized nationally and internationally as a scientist in the field of plant stress physiology. His work includes papers and books on indigenous Iranian plants including Saffron, Cumin, Berberis and Kochia scoparia.

Professor Kafi is a member of many local and national higher education advisory and planning boards and he was appointed as one of the 20 top scientists in agronomy in the Islamic world in 2012.

FUM Presidents from 1958 to present
Name & Surname
Start of presidency End of presidency
Dr. Hossein SamiRad
Dr. Ziaodin Esmaeel-Beigi
Dr. Mohsen Ziayii
Dr. Abdollah Faryar
Dr. Nasrollah Moghtader-Mojhdehi
1973 1975
Dr. Sayyed Jalal Matini
1975 1977
Dr. Parviz Amoozgar
1977 1979
Dr. Sirus Sahami
1979 1980
Dr. Gholam-Ali Edrisian
Dr. Mahdi Etemadi
Dr. Hossein Eshtiagh-Hosseini
1985 1990
Dr. Abdol-Rasoul Kazempour
1990 1996
Dr. Ali Sarafraz Yazdi
1996 1998
Dr. Abdolreza Bagheri
1998 2005
Dr. Alireza Ashouri
Dr. Mohammad Kafi